Go with the flow and Prague

It sounds cliche but more than anything I wanted to take this trip to explore and find myself. So not only am I going to record my experiences but I’m also going to record what I’ve learned.

Here we go…

This trip was my first to Eastern side of the hemisphere, and also my first traveling alone. I arrived to SEATAC airport only to find that my first flight was delayed by an hour and a half, so I was put on another flight. Besides this, I was told that my luggage was 15 pounds over the 50 pound limit and that I would be charged an additional 200 dollars to fly with it. However, if I moved 15 pounds of things from one bag to another and checked both bags it would only cost me 100 dollars…thanks, United…that is so logical. I arrived in San Francisco with just enough time to RUN to the international gates on the other side of the airport. Thankfully, I made it! But then the plane decided not to depart for an hour, so we just sat and sat and sat on the plane. Finally, we took off and my 10 hour flight began. I’ve never been happier to see movies on a plane, at least they made time move faster. Due to the tardy departure of my second flight, I made it through customs and security and to my gate last…as in the doors were closed behind me. As I arrived in Prague, I came to find that although I made it onto the plane, my luggage did not. So much for the “luggage travels faster than you do” garbage I was told.

Nevertheless, I made it to Prague. I also didn’t have to worry about lugging two big bags of stuff or finding a hotel. I had Lena who let me stay with her and my big bags were delivered at 3am (Prague time).

Every single building in Prague looks like it belongs in the Cinderella storybook, the parks are beautiful, and the statues are amazing. I’ve run into a few unfriendly people here, but that is expected. I’ve met a lot of Russian speaking people who were all very friendly and helpful. If you ever don’t know where you’re going you can always ask people until someone responds. I’ve been asked for money a few times by homeless people…wearing addidas.

I was surprised to find that there is McDonalds on every corner…and that mainly the richer dressed Europeans eat the McDonalds. Grocery shopping is a very interesting experience in Prague…you must have your own bags to carry groceries in, and you have to bag them yourself (me and my roommate Kelly got yelled at for that).

Last but not least of my memorable experiences of the day: my first shower in Prague. I had enough hot water to shampoo…not to condition.

So here’s what I learned: take each thing as it comes, don’t perceive everything as the end of the world because it’s not. If you do you find the silver lining: I was able to sight see without worrying about bags as soon as I got to Prague. I got my things anyway. I also was rewarded with an amazing apartment with a huge bathroom, living/dining room, two bedrooms and a fully stocked kitchen plus washer and dryer. Our apartment is in the center of Prague and we’re close to everything…shopping, groceries, restaurants, sights, bars, cafes, and much more.

Lose yourself in Prague, you won’t regret it.

Image

XOXO,

Eliza

Leave a comment